STRAWBASIL BREEZE COCKTAILS

Brace yourself, because I’m about to share something I haven’t in a reaallly long time. A recipe! Because of camera/time issues I kind of gave up on that part of the blog for a while. BUT, hopefully you try this and think it’s the tastiest drink ever and forgive me, yes?This tasty drink came about when I decided I wanted to make mojitos with my room mate, because I love fresh herb rum drinks. But then I remembered my room mate is one of those weird people who thinks mint is only for toothpaste and is disturbed by it being involved in any sort of food (wtf right?). So I replaced the mint with basil, decided to add some fruit, then replaced the limeyness of a mojito with lemon. It starts with a tasty simple syrup, made with agave, strawberries and fresh basil, then is poured over icy rum with a spritz of lemon.

SB2Naming drinks is hard guys. All the good names that aren’t just listing ingredients are taken already! I got really hung up on naming it a mojito because of the way I came about the idea for the drink, but I’m pretty sure if I named it that it would be fraud, so I let it go.


STRAWBASIL BREEZE

For the Strawberry Basil Simple Syrup-

  • 1 c water
  • 6-8 leaves fresh basil, chopped
  • 8 strawberries, sliced
  • 4 tbsp light agave syrup

What’s needed for 2 drinks-

  • 1 c Strawbasil simple syrup
  • 2 leaves fresh basil, coarsely broken down
  • 2 strawberries, sliced
  • 1 lemon
  • 4oz light rum

First, make your simple syrup-
Heat all simple syrup ingredients in a pot until simmering. As strawberries and basil start to soften, help to break them down as you stir. Once strawberries seem broken down and syrup color has changed to a bright pink, turn off heat and let sit until cool. Once cool, pour through a strainer and discard strawberry and basil pulp.

Drink Assembly-
Pour 2 oz of rum over ice, top with 4oz simple syrup. Squeeze half a lemon into each and garnish with strawberries and basil. Alternatively, if you’re not into basil pieces floating around, freeze within ice cubes.

*You could easily make this a non-alcholic lemonade as well by diluting the simple syrup and adding more lemon!


Cheers!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

