Chicago Shoutout

 

chicago

Last month I got an awesome opportunity to go to Chicago for the weekend.  While I was there, I became completely fascinated by how different it was culturally than New York.  It seems insane to me that entire cities can take on such unique personalities!  My first impressions of Chicago (based on my tiny stay there) are that people seem less rushed than New York, it is much more quiet than New York, and that the entire city as a whole is obsessed with Futura.

Even though I was traveling and we did lots of touristy things, I kept having this tendency to want to do nothing more than stop at a coffee shop and read all day.  There was a definite quiet coziness in the air which absolutely does not exist in New York.  Usually in New York, you are guaranteed a Starbucks seat battle even for that sticky weird table (you know the one I’m talking about).

Even though it was a really overcast day, enough of the clouds burned away by mid day that I was able to take some really cool photos.  Honestly, I’m really happy that it was overcast because it made the skyscrapers and other architecture look even more deco and majestic.

 

photo 5

photo 1 (2)

 

 

My cousin and I even stood within those glass floor boxes on the 103rd floor of the Sears tower (almost died from terror).  I have NEVER in my life seen a more impressive view.  Everything just looks so futuristic and toy-like.  I know the above picture is warped but you can almost see the curvature of the earth from that high, I love it!  Moral of the story is- go to Chicago, it is AWESOME (but New York pizza owns deep dish, sorry)!

 

Leave a Reply

