30 Days: 30 Projects- Day 9

DSCF4107 copy

I feel like I am at a strange age where I am overly sentimental about my past, because my future and present aren’t well established yet.  I don’t really know where I stand and I don’t know where I’m going, and there is this immense pressure to figure everything out RIGHT NOW.  All this pressure sometimes just makes me miss those quiet moments that I used to have growing up and in college, as I haven’t quite found a place to escape it all in New York.

This photo was one I took a while ago in college at Oswego.  The campus was right on the shore of Lake Ontario, and whenever things felt too heavy or overwhelming and I needed some down time I would come here and just sit on the beach to watch the water until I relaxed.  It was the easiest way for me to just recharge my brain and stop thinking way too much about everything.

I would say that this is one of the hardest things I have had to face now that I’m an adult.  You lose all those little moments like this, and reserve them for a week or two in the year when you’re on vacation.  I feel that even if you are doing something you love with your career, if you don’t find a way to balance it out you will just burn out.  I think we should all vow to dedicate more time to doing exactly what we want, when we want, within reason, obviously.  Its so easy to get stuck in a rut where you forget life isn’t just about to do lists, and a lot of my greatest memories so far are of those seemingly insignificant in between times that I found a way to enjoy to their fullest.

Leave a Reply

