NYC Summer

nyc_summerSince moving to the city, it seems like I have so little free time or energy to go exploring.  This past weekend, I decided to set aside time to explore the city since there a literally thousands of unique things to do here on any given day.  My room mate and I decided to check out the Brooklyn flea market for some possible fixer-upper pieces for our apartment.

When we first got to Williamsburg I had major culture shock.  It was so crowded with young hip people but the run down setting didn’t seem to match the people.  I don’t know, I’m still so ignorant to trendy NYC. The flea market itself was a mix of awesome and terrifying.  There were lots of really cool pieces, like old maps and jewelry, but also terrifying deer heads and random doll body parts strewn around.  I am terrified easily  though, so don’t take my word for it!

In all honesty I was pretty disappointed with the flea market because everything was way out of my price range.  After spending only about a half an hour there, already dripping with sweat from the heat, and realizing we were not hip enough/too poor to even be there, we decided we needed food and hydration. Which leads me to the second best part of the day! We checked out the Hampton Chutney Co. for lunch, a sandwich place with an indian flair.  I got a fresh mozzarella arugula sourdough sandwich, which was the absolute perfect summer lunch- so refreshing on a hot day.  I NEED this sandwich in my life again! Copy cat recipe post to come!

After lunch came the hands down best part of the day-Trader Joe’s.  Enough said.  With the weekend coming up I hope to have time for another adventure Saturday, fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

