Sunday Screen Prints

circle_prints

 Its been longer than I’d like to admit since I last screen printed. Despite the time gap, I still remember the feeling of spending hours in the studio, creating a repetitive rhythm and beat with my squeegee swipes and smears into the ink.  Even though screen printing was often the most frustrating media I’ve ever worked in, It was simultaneously often the most rewarding.  There was something so hypnotic and soothing about the repetition, and having made a graphic piece by hand often gives it so much more sentimental value.  Printmaking as a whole is what made me understand  Jackson Pollock’s intentions in his work.  I think every artist should be open to the possibility of being concerned more with the experience of creating something and becoming a part of it, than the result they produce.  You may surprise yourself!

DSC01894

Leave a Reply

